PDA

View Full Version : New to .223Rem reloading

PoconoChris
02-25-10, 23:12
Hi all,

I have been reloading rifle bullets for a few years and plan to start reloading .223Rem. I just bought a Smith & Wesson M&P15OR (1 in 9 twist) rifle that shoot .223 or 5.56 and I really enjoy shooting it. I'm starting to gather a lot of brass. I am reloading these to save some money, get better accuracy, and because I like reloading and ammo testing. I just though I'd ask some questions that might help me save time and money because this is the first time I am reloading for a semi action and in a new caliber.

I have an older version (70's) of the RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme Single Stage Press Master Kit with a new scale and some other tools that I got from my uncle who taught me to reload.

To load the .223Rem I am going to order the following for MidwayUSA which comes out to about $25.

Trimmer Pilot - #22 for my Lyman Trimmer
Lee RGB 2-Die Set 223 Remington (the RCBS die was not rated well in .223)
Lee Universal Shell holder #4

I plan on reloading with a Hornady 55 grain FMJ bullet with CCI 400 primers. I'm not sure on which powder and how much to use. I want the gun to cycle properly and I'm not interested in any "Hot loads" that many cause problems with my gun. My reloading manuals are old from the early 70's and doesn't have current data. I am looking to shoot economically but I don't mind spending on something that might work better or shoot cleaner and such.

Any suggestions on a load or equipment?

What powder and how much should I use?

Will the Lee shell holder work in the RCBS Rock Chucker Press? I never had to change it :)

Thanks!

bobvila
02-25-10, 23:43
Might want to look at the 3 die set, comes with the factory crimp die and the shellholder. You can find all the load data online from the manufacturers.

NWPilgrim
02-26-10, 05:06