PDA

View Full Version : Troy vs KAC drop in rails

dubuque
03-03-10, 19:45
what are the differences in the quality of the two? are KAC really worth the extra money? I've herd good things about both. please tell me about the pros and cons thanks

JonnyVain
03-03-10, 21:13
What are the weight differences?

I have the 12" MRF-R Troy. It installs easily and clamps onto the barrel extension securely. It also weighs a lot less than the Midwest Industries counterpart at 8.75oz

I have no experience with the KAC

Wow I just looked at their sight. Their M5 rail is 17oz. Plus 1 for Troy.

Six Feet Under
03-03-10, 21:17
I have no experience with the KAC rail, but with the prices you can find them for on AR15.com and other sites like M4C, the price shouldn't be an object as they end up being the same new and used as the Troy.

My buddy has a Troy rail and I'm very impressed with it. It didn't add much weight over the standard M4 hand guards, and it locks up very tight. There is zero play in his VFG or light either one.

Belmont31R
03-03-10, 22:06
KAC is a time and combat tested rail system still in use today.

You can find like new to new sets in the $150 range if you look around. No one but an idiot would pay 325 or whatever MSRP is on them.

SPM14430
03-03-10, 23:08
+1 for KAC RAS, as stated earlier... tried and true

Going rate is about $150 for rails, VFG and a set of panels

Your best bet is to get your hands on the KAC SAS lower rail, which has a locking tab as well. This will ensure rock solid lock up with no movement at all.

I've owned Larue, Daniel Defense, and Troy rails... all very nice, but find myself going back to Knights, it's classic.

justin_247
03-04-10, 05:43

I have the 12" MRF-R Troy. It installs easily and clamps onto the barrel extension securely. It also weighs a lot less than the Midwest Industries counterpart at 8.75oz

I have no experience with the KAC

Wow I just looked at their sight. Their M5 rail is 17oz. Plus 1 for Troy.