PDA

View Full Version : AK timeline

tommygunn47
03-04-10, 12:36
I was looking at this photo essay at Time re: the AK and pic 3 is of a Native American at Wounded Knee, 1973 holding a milled AK. I was wondering when and what makes of AKs were first domestically available? I was born in the early 70s and the first AKs I can remember were the Maadis from the early 80s, didn't think anything was available prior to that.

http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1964810,00.html

snappy
03-04-10, 13:30
Neat pic. As far as I know the AK-47 was first designed in... 1947. Would be interesting to know when they first made it to these shores. This link has some good info, though it is also a webstore which I have no experience with and cannot vouche for. Lots of links along the left margin to the different countries variants. Check out the Russian link for early AK info. Hope this is helpful.
http://world.guns.ru/assault/as00-e.htm

SteyrAUG
03-04-10, 13:41
Looking at the front sight and stocks I'm gonna say Chinese.

So we are talking about an early Clayco or Golden State Arms import.

geminidglocker
03-04-10, 13:57
Or, perhaps it is an AK-47, not one of the semi-auto clones????:confused:
I don't call my ARs M16s, and I don't call my semi-auto AKs AK-47s.

Iraqgunz
03-04-10, 14:09
A few observations. It has a milled receiver and the old style flash hider. I have never seen Chinese guns with flash hiders except for U.S imports. Also, looking at the pins on the receiver my guess is that it is a real deal AK47 and not a copy.

I am guessing a possible Vietnam bring back (probably not legal) and I would say it is either Russian or Bulgarian.

GermanSynergy
03-04-10, 14:35
What 7.62x39mm ammunition was commercially available on the US market in 1973?

AKFAN
03-04-10, 16:11
Here is a color image of the same guy. The AK is full-auto and appears to be Chinese, Im pretty sure its a Vietnam bring-back.

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l41/ak_fan2000/Halstead_05.jpg