PDA

View Full Version : Damaged Federal XM193

sureshot47
03-10-10, 11:51
New to the forum. Tons of great info. Im pretty new to the gun world and the info here has been a big help......Last week I purchased 1000 rds of Federal XM193. I just recieved it last night and I have a few issues with it. I have opened 5 boxes of 20 and have found 10rds with dents in the casing and 1 with a small crack in the neck of the casing. Is this normal? I tried to search to see if anyone else had this issue but I didnt find anything. I think I got a pretty good deal on the ammo but I dont feel like having 11% of my rounds damaged seems right, even if it is cheap. Maybe it isnt a big deal but I would love to hear your opinions. Also is this new brass? Its scuffed, scratched and has has some black gummy substace splattered all over the casings so I have a hard time seeing how it could be. Again I could just be ignorant of how these things work. My normal ammo purchasing experience is limited to going to walmart and buying a couple hundred rounds before I go shooting. I have never purchased anything in bulk before. Thanks for the help

Thomas M-4
03-10-10, 11:54
Dents on the case are normal shoot it dont think twice about it.
The small crack on the one could cause concern more than likely it would be fine to shoot if its not that bad but best bet would be just to toss that one into the garbage.
The black gummy stuff is water proof sealant its fine it wont cause a problem.

Loki
03-10-10, 12:12
If they are individually boxed (20 round boxes) they should be in better shape than the bulk loose pack PD ammo.

But quality can go down when production numbers go up.

If you are not happy get in touch with the seller.

Safetyhit
03-11-10, 17:03
Dents on the case are normal shoot it dont think twice about it.
The small crack on the one could cause concern more than likely it would be fine to shoot if its not that bad but best bet would be just to toss that one into the garbage.