PDA

View Full Version : Dual Light mounts?

lovesAK
03-10-10, 13:29
I am wondering if anybody out there knows of a cheaper alternative to the Larue Double Stack light mount. I tried adding pics, but I'm not high enough on the food chain yet. Please check out the link below if you need a little clarification.

http://stores.homestead.com/Laruetactical/Detail.bok?no=22

I want to mount a light and a backup light to my system, but I really can't justify spending that much on a mount, seeing as how I'm a broke college student. I would be willing to spend around $40, however it isn't a fixed limit and the pricing is flexible.

Please don't lecture me on what proper gear costs, and getting what you pay for, I've already been down that road. ;)

Thanks in advance!

lovesAK

militarymoron
03-10-10, 14:52
why not save the money and stick with one light?

RD62
03-10-10, 15:39
If you stick with a LED based light you have removed most of the potential for lamp issues, and greatly increased runtime. If you stay on top of keeping the batteries good, you should be fine with one light and you won't have the extra weight of a second light hanging off the rifle.

If you really want to run two lights and stay around $40 for mounts, I'd look at picking up two VTAC mounts and playing with their positioning on the rails to accomplish a setup thats comfortable to you.

Good luck!

-RD62

markm
03-10-10, 15:54
If you stick with a LED based light you have removed most of the potential for lamp issues, and greatly increased runtime. If you stay on top of keeping the batteries good, you should be fine with one light and you won't have the extra weight of a second light hanging off the rifle.

That's where I've gone myself.

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb201/trixiebud/hudson092-1.jpg?t=1268257554