PDA

View Full Version : Which rail, KAC RAS or Omega?

jhs1969
03-12-10, 16:03
First let me say I've had 3 different RAS's and have no complaints on them, and I currently have one on my LMT. I'm now looking to add a rail to my 6920. I will also add that I have several extra KAC rail covers and can get a RAS cheaper than the Omega. If I get a RAS, along with the extra rail covers I already have, I shouldn't need to add anything else to the rail. So it seems the RAS has a slight lead already.

With that being said, I've heard a lot of good things about the Omega but I have zero experience with them. I do have a couple of questions about the Omega's,
Will/can the Omega loosen the barrel nut? I know it can't back out due to the gas tube, I was just wondering if this is possible.

Will/can the set screws back out, even with blue loctite?

For those that have an Omega what more can you tell me, especially anyone who has ran them hard.

Which would you get and why?

Kilo 1-1
03-12-10, 16:20
I say, if you could get the RAS for less, I would just go with that. I have one myself, and they work as they should.
I can't remember exactly, but I think the Omegas are free floating right?

I don't personally own an Omega, but hopefully these set of excellent pictures of assembly process might help answer your question.

http://www.weaponevolution.com/forum/showthread.php?t=65

jhs1969
03-12-10, 16:54
I say, if you could get the RAS for less, I would just go with that. I have one myself, and they work as they should.
I can't remember exactly, but I think the Omegas are free floating right?

I don't personally own an Omega, but hopefully these set of excellent pictures of assembly process might help answer your question.

http://www.weaponevolution.com/forum/showthread.php?t=65