PDA

View Full Version : New at this...help me get started (Suppressor ?'s)

Scott2501
03-15-10, 09:02
Hey everyone,

I am looking to mount a suppressor to my AR. I am new to this, and had some questions I'm hoping to get answered as I start down this path. Yes, I have read the stickies.

Some info about my needs/what I have:

I would only use the suppressor for my AR, so I don't need interchangeability, but I do want to be able to take the suppressor on and off easily.

I am currently using a PWS TTO Compensator - not sure if I will have to scrap this, or if I will still be able to use it depending on which supressor I choose.

I have a 16" rifle with 12" rails. It is a BCM midlength gas system. I want to be sure a supressor will fit, and I don't want to add too much to overall length if I can help it.

My budget is under $1,000. So, $200 for the stamp, leaves me about $500-800 for the suppressor.

My questions:
Based on my rifle, do you see any issues with using a suppressor? - i.e. barrel/rail length, gas system, etc.

Given the things important to me (Performance, Quick Detach, Overall Length, and Price), what would you recommend?

I got great info from this site to help me build a rifle I am very happy with. Now I'm relying on you guys again to get a suppressor picked out. After I nail down what I want, I'll dive into the paperwork part of obtaining one.

Thanks for your help! Here is a pic of the rifle in question:

http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/2918/arleftside.jpg

03-15-10, 10:35
What do you see your main use for the suppressor?

Scott2501
03-15-10, 10:44
What do you see your main use for the suppressor?

While it will be nice to make things a little quieter at the range, my main concern is to be able to shoot around my house without bothering the neighbors.

I have room around my place to shoot, but we do have some neighbors that can get a little bothered about shooting close by.