PDA

View Full Version : opinions on yankee hill?

nolacola
03-15-10, 09:56
Hey guys, I'm new to the AR world and am trying to do things right. I've been spending a few weeks just reading and learning so I have a good idea of what I'm getting into and knowing what to spend my money on. That being said I spotted this rifle at the local gun shop yesterday and was curious to get some more info on the quality of it. I've seen YHM mentioned for other parts but I couldn't really find much info on the quality of their rifles. I could pick it up for $1200.

http://yankeehillmachine.com/store/product443.html

bkb0000
03-15-10, 09:59
there is absolutely nothing worth $1200 about that weapon.. the only reason they think they can get away with chargine $1200 for it is because of that crappy handguard they have on it- and YHM handguards are pretty bottom of the barrel.

if you're smart about it, you can get a battlefield-ready weapon WITH railed handguard of good quality for not much more. keep reading.. and stick to m4carbine.net ;)

03-15-10, 10:28
Better choices out there. Colt,BCM, and DD just for starters. All are in the ballpark as far as price. All are better quality.

Abraxas
03-15-10, 10:33
Better choices out there. Colt,BCM, and DD just for starters. All are in the ballpark as far as price. All are better quality.

This is absolutely correct.

nolacola
03-15-10, 10:33
Ok, thanks guys. I had originally planned to go with BCM from what I've read here and I'll stick with it.

Robb Jensen
03-15-10, 11:54
YHM = good quality but heavier and bigger than more expensive stuff.

rob_s
03-15-10, 12:02

I would be inclined to agree where their individual parts are concerned, but their complete rifles combine a suspect base gun with a lot of that "big heavy" for prices that tend to be higher than they should.

I'm of the opinion that one is better served with a high quality base firearm and standard plastic furniture than a suspect base gun covered in big heavy parts.

JonnyVain