PDA

View Full Version : Just Wondering(?)

DrScooter
03-16-10, 19:30
Indulge me with your opinions. Presently, I have a Bushmaster Predator, pretty much stock, an extended charging handle to get under the scope and a Harris Bipod. I'm not a hunter, shoot mostly at a State range and had moved to the Predator after shooting a R-55 T/C 22, which was fun and cheap but any shot at ranges passed 75 yards was pretty poor. I've been shooting "commie guns" for fun and have SKS and a reworked Hungarian AK with a side folding stock.

I like the Predator and "might" keep it but what I have in mind is I can get a Middy BCM Upper, with the Hammer Forged Barrel and a Gunfighter Charging handle set up around $700 it lacks only the front hand guard. I was thinking (the first time IS the hardest) for shy of $70 I can get either the UTG standard Modular Rail OR the same rail except "Free Float" which would take a gunsmith (if you factor in my skills) to mount. I don't really plan to hang a bunch of stuff on it but could make it sort of a cross between a Carbine and the Predator.

For those who like these battle rails I'd like your opinion and for those who don't like them, I'd like your opinions too. I know the UTG tend to be a bit heavy, more than likely I will mount my Harris Bipod from the Predator and if this build seems like a reasonable compromise I "might" sell the Predator upper and go with this BCM and Bushy Bottom as it has a nice trigger. For the time being I will keep the two uppers and dwell on this, I think.

Lee Indy
03-16-10, 19:35
if you are on the cheap and still want quality get the magpul moe guards. got a little extra cash and and feeling the free float bug get the troy trx

bkb0000
03-16-10, 19:40
UTG makes airsoft toy parts.. not firearm components. they should not even be considered.

Failure2Stop
03-16-10, 19:48
You're buying a real gun right?
Get a real rail.
You will sleep better at night.

rob_s
03-17-10, 05:30