PDA

View Full Version : Moving at the ready position

vicious_cb
03-17-10, 00:13
When making movement at the ready position, as in you are expecting a threat to pop out any second are you looking thru your optic or over/around it?

John_Wayne777
03-17-10, 07:24
I'm not sure what "making movement" is...

...but let me see if I can clear things up a bit:

From the sound of things you are referring to a situation that is highly dependent upon context. Let's do some hypotheticals.

Let's say that hypothetically I'm a police officer responding to an active shooter call in a mall. I arrive on scene at about the same time as another officer and we're heading toward the sound of the gunfire. We've spotted a guy with a gun who spots us just a few seconds later and he hops behind a column and leans out to take shots at us. We've set up behind some reasonable cover.

Now in that situation if I reasonably expect that he's dumb enough to keep prarie-dogging that bit of cover, I'll pick an aiming point and wait there safety off, finger on trigger, ready to squeeze when he pops around that corner to shoot at me again. I know where the bad guy is, I have a reasonably good idea of what he's going to do, and I've already made the decision to use lethal force. I'm looking through the optic ready to shoot because that is most appropriate in that situation.