PDA

View Full Version : why a light?

kdog989
03-17-10, 20:43
Ok, im new to this stuff and just wondering why the tacical light seems to be a must have for so many people, is it more important than a good optic?

rob_s
03-17-10, 20:46
Purely from a "fighting" standpoint, I would take the light over the optic. However, I think it's more important to learn to use the gun before you think of using it for defensive purposes, and to that end I think the optic is more important.

NCPatrolAR
03-17-10, 20:49
Ok, im new to this stuff and just wondering why the tacical light seems to be a must have for so many people, is it more important than a good optic?

The light is a must on a gun to be used for personal protetion because of the need for threat identification.

kwb377
03-17-10, 23:04
...wondering why the tacical light seems to be a must have for so many people?

Because I can't see in the dark...

As NC stated...threat I.D.

RWK
03-18-10, 09:40
Because I can't see in the dark...

Damn, someone beat me to it!

sonrider657
03-18-10, 11:37
Because the bad guys don't always come during daylight hours.

chiefhubbard
03-18-10, 21:41
Have you ever been able to look at a strobing bright light and not put your hand up or look away? Then you get capped, not to mention the other very good reasons.

tracker722
03-19-10, 23:45

NCPatrolAR
03-20-10, 00:04
Have you ever been able to look at a strobing bright light and not put your hand up or look away?

I wouldnt put so much stock in the effects of a strobing light.

chiefhubbard
03-20-10, 13:54
I wouldnt put so much stock in the effects of a strobing light.