PDA

View Full Version : Grip Question

Sparky5019
03-23-10, 19:06
OK, a little background first:

I have been shooting high level Cowboy Action Shooting for over 15 years so no stranger to competition and consistent technique. Have shot 1911s off and on over the years but nothing serious. New to the GLOCK. Have watched the Magpul handgun DVDs for refresher on gripping and shooting semi-autos. I am using the thumbs forward grip in isosceles style stance with Travis's 100% x2 grip. I am using a G22 and am right handed.

Question:

When the gun recoils, my reaction (support) hand grip is is broken. My weapon hand has control of the gun and it does not change but the reaction hand placement is broken loose. What is going on here?

I feel like I have consistent and equal muscle tension in both hands and arms. I feel like if I increase it any more I will be so tight as to make my sights quiver from the pressure. I understand that you can't stop the recoil so you should ride with it to a point but a certain amount of tension is necessary to control the gun to get consistent sight return and follow up shots. The tests I have done with this are just shooting for feel and not for accuracy as IMHO a gun that "feels" right will shoot right (as long as the bullets print where the sights are aligned) and this has been my experience in CAS.

Any ideas?...Or am I just smoking CRACK?:confused::p:eek:

Sparky

jaxman7
03-23-10, 20:53
Hey Sparky here's a suggestion my instructor told me a while back concerning the wrist position of my reaction hand. "Try to torque your support wrist down. This will allow you to follow up on subsequent shots quicker and have better recoil management." Doing this right will basically make your thumb forward position be inline with your forearm. This technique helped reduce my muzzle rise. Hope this helps. Let me know if it does.

skyugo
03-24-10, 01:05
not familiar with this 100% x2 grip..:confused: