PDA

View Full Version : Any AFROTC people members here?

Jer
03-24-10, 18:06
Just curious because I'm considering it. I have a few questions and am wondering if there's some members here who can speak to this and help field my questions. Thanks!

BrigandTwoFour
03-24-10, 18:10
I graduated from AFROTC in 2006, if that's any help to you.

Gentoo
03-24-10, 18:16
What are your questions?

Jer
03-24-10, 18:48
I'll start with my situation: I'm 32 years old and married. I've done a lot of things but most were in an attempt to make an obscene amount of money and retire early and coast through life. In the last couple of years I've come to the realization that while I've had a good time I really haven't done anything of significance with this life. I mean, I have a few stories here and there but nothing to really hang my hat on. I've considered LE and have even interviewed with a few agencies and was looking pretty good prior to all of the hiring freezes of a year or so ago. Now that departments are starting to hire I'm seeing that the hiring pool is pretty deep so those with military are getting some bonus points for the hiring. Not complaining at all, just stating the obvious. I have also considered the military here and there over the years and was even close to doing the AFROTC program out of high school but life lead me a different route. I have always thought about military but life just kind of got away from me over the years.

So, I had a nice conversation with a gentleman the other day that was in the Navy. We talked about lots of things and after a lengthy Q&A he suggested I look into the ROTC program with the AirForce. He had lots of reasons why that would be a good fit for me and it really does seem to make sense for me so I'm gathering information. I wasn't aware I could even qualify for this at this point in life but he says that I should be able to do so up to 35 years old.