PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Primer Pockets

usmcamp0811
03-26-10, 07:02
I'm brand new to reloading and I'm about to start up for the first time sometime in the next week, after I finish setting up my reloading room. I've read a book and surfed the net about reloading for the past few months and I am a little curious about cleaning primer pockets with a progressive press (i've got a dillon 550). I've read some places say that they do not clean the primer pockets of their pistol ammo but they do of their rifle ammo. .223 is going to be my first caliber that I reload and I'm just curious how vital it is to clean the primer pocket and what maybe some of you veteran reloaders do to both maximize quality and efficiency.

jmart
03-26-10, 10:29
It's not vital.

blade_68
03-26-10, 10:33
I clean my 308 ones, not so much on 9mm ones I just check pockets for crap in then is needed then I'll clean them

chadbag
03-26-10, 11:09
I don't bother with anything. I read a (probably not rigorous but it was double blind) study that someone did in a magazine where they loaded some quantity of ammo by doing it and some without doing it and there was no noticeable difference in accuracy. They were not shooting a benchrest quality gun so maybe in that realm it can be quantified to have an effect.

YMMV and all that.

markm
03-26-10, 18:10
I've done what feels like a million rounds without cleaning any primer pockets.

I've started farting around with this ultrasonic cleaner. And it cleans the primer pockets and interior of the brass very well.

Now I feel like a lazy slob loading brass that hasn't gone through the U/S cleaner. :p

DBR
03-26-10, 19:46
What ultrasonic cleaner are you using?

markm
03-26-10, 19:57
What ultrasonic cleaner are you using?

A commercial unit from "Shining Image". The SAME unit that Harbor Freight sells, and the SAME unit that Hornady is slapping their label on.