PDA

View Full Version : Lots of failures to fire with Sig p220 yesterday.

threeheadeddog
03-27-10, 19:17
I have a P220 Combat TB that I shot about 1500rds+/- twords the middle of last year. I havent shot it much since except to remove some pests from the back yard every now and then. I pretty much got it filthy then just let it sit for the last 4-5 months. Also a large portion of the 1500rds was shot suppressed.

So fast forward to last week when I found a set of older sig p220 grips(it seem most 220's these days ship with thin grips which I dont like) and decided to take it out. Around the end of the shooting it had a click instead of boom, but I just pulled the trigger again and it went off. So fearing that it was having issues I took it with me to the range yesterday and had somewhere in the realm of 6 FTFire. This is very displeasing. I checked the primers and they had much more shallow hits on them.

I did completly take it apart, and while it was filthy I didnt find the mounds of crap in the firing pin channel I was expecting/hoping. I did clean it up, but still worry that something might be wrong. I checked the firing pin and firing pin safty thingy for wear or drag marks but didnt see any. The springs seamed fine. The gun seemed uneventfully good. I was hoping to find a smoking gun as to where the problem was.

So I guess basically I am asking what could have happened? Could it be that the firing pin channel had never be cleaned in 1500rds with most of the rds being shot with a crud enhancer on(suppressor) then left for months? Could it have something to do with the grips being replaced(dont think so but it is the only change I can think that happened to the gun)?

I will take it out tomarrow and shoot 100rds or so after my IDPA match to see if the cleaning worked but I worry that it didnt.

Also forgive my rambling I think and talk much clearer than I type:confused:

lethal dose
03-27-10, 19:29