PDA

View Full Version : Bravo Company BCM 03 MSF Chest Harness Reveiw

WillBrink
04-04-10, 08:00
Jeff C reviews the BCM 03 MSF Chest Harness:

A little background on the BCM 03 MSF Chest Harness.

Let me start off by saying I didn't invent the 2 piece chest rig with yoke and hydro carrier. The original design goes back to the late 70's / early 80's. The South African M83 battle vest is probably the original 2 piece chest rig that featured a yoke and hydration carrier.

I have been using 2 piece chest rigs since 2000 for both work and training classes. My first 2 piece chest rig was a S.O.E. chest rig with hydro carrier that I wore over my body armor for SWAT. The picture in my avatar (pic taken in Feb of 2002) shows me wearing the 2 piece chest rig over my body armor. This was before body armor carriers covered in PALS webbing was readily available on the civilian / law enforcement market.

Since 2000 I have used numerous different 2 piece chest rigs (South African M83 Battle Vest, Tactical Tailor 2 piece MAV with X-Harness and hydro carrier, several different S.O.E. split front chest rigs with hydro carriers, SO Tech Hellcats, TAG Split Front Chest Rigs, Eagle Ind. Load Bearing Air Rescue Vest and Enhanced Load Bearing Vest, London Bridge Trading, Arktis and several other 2 piece chest rig designs). I have spent a small fortune on tactical gear over the years.

The main complaint I had with all of the designs I used over the years was most 2 piece chest rigs were either too large and/or too cumbersome for my needs. Most of the designs listed above were geared toward military users. The designs were overkill for what I wanted and needed in a chest rig. At 5'06" / 150 lbs some of these chest rigs were too large for me, and others would fit but I had the adjustment straps cinched down as tight they would go.