PDA

View Full Version : barrel twist and tumble

Watchman
04-25-10, 09:50
Greetings,

I just read a thread in another forum where the user claims keyhole issues with 55gr 1:7 twist rifle barrel at 50 and 100 yard targets. And not as bad from the same twist in a carbine barrel...

I was about to claim he made back asswards response but I'm no uber expert on the subject. I thought slower twists (not enough spin) caused bullets to tumble. Can a too fast a twist cause the same thing?

Thanks.

5pins
04-25-10, 11:32
Sounds odd to me also.

I have read post where someone claims that 55gr bullets will tumble in a 1/7 barrel but I have never seen it. However if the bullet is tumbling I would be surprised it is hitting the target at 100yds.

Todd.K
04-26-10, 11:36
The only way to get 55gr to tumble in a 1/7 twist is to shoot out the rifling.

ForTehNguyen
04-26-10, 11:56
never had a problem shooting M193 out of my 1:7s

04-26-10, 21:22
Bullets don't tumble by design from an AR. There is a problem with the gun if the bullet tumbles.

Sundo
04-29-10, 01:11
The most credible explanation I've read is that 55 gr bullets spin too fast out of a 1:7 barrel, so the jacket deforms and disturbs the flight of the bullet, leading to reduced accuracy.

The issue is not the weight itself, but the fact that the lighter bullet has a much higher muzzle velocity (3200 fps for 55 gr vs 2700 fps for 77 gr). For the same barrel twist rate, higher muzzle velocity translates directly into a faster bullet spin rate. There is a limit on spin rate where the centrifugal forces will be enough to deform the bullet.