PDA

View Full Version : beginer questions

brelsfor
05-07-07, 09:06
First I would like to say that this forum is a wealth of knowledge . I am a beginner when it comes to AR's and am looking to build one very soon. I have a few questions for those here that are in the know, but apologize because I am sure that I don't have all of the technical lingo down.

The local gun shop has Rock River completed lower receivers with collapsible buttstock for $260 which does not seem to be too bad of a price. I am confident that if I needed to I could figure out how to assemble the lower receiver from scratch, but the assembled ones they have seem to be an ok price and is basically what I would want. I am looking to purchase a completed upper assembly for it though. I like the feel of a longer rifle so I am looking for something with a 20 inch barrel. I am not looking for anything overly fancy, but do like the ones that have the short rail just on the top and want a removable carry handle / sights just in case I would every want to try some optics out on it. What I have found with these features is from Stag Arms. I like the model 4H, link below.

http://www.stagarms.com/righthalf.htm

What are peoples opinions of this Upper? The website does not give a lot of details. Does anyone know if the barrel is chrome lined? I have always been fanatical about cleaning my guns after every time they are fired, how important is the chrome lining? If it helps for use I mainly plan on using it for some plinking and fun. Does this sound like an ok build, or or there better options out there for what I want?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give

Jeff

scrh1
05-07-07, 22:24
First off welcome to the forum. I'm new here too, but have spent lots of time researching, shooting various rifles, handguns, etc.. over the years. I finally decide to take the plunge with an AR and wound up here as well as a few other forums out there for info and guidance.