PDA

View Full Version : Connecticut-legal ARs?

DouglasW
04-27-10, 16:54
So it turns out I'm moving to Connecticut this summer from Colorado for work, and I've been searching through M4carbine.net to see what my AR options are with the CT AWB. I'm pretty new to ARs -- I just bought a Colt 6920 last year, which I know I cannot bring with me without significant neutering.

I am looking for a complete .223 16" AR with either a carbine length (e.g. Colt MT6400c) or mid-length gas system (perhaps a Noveske Light Recce, Basic, with non-collapsible stock?) that is Connecticut-legal and comparable in quality to the 6920.

Suggestions?

Are Noveske, LMT, etc. ARs legal in Connecticut since they aren't made by Colt and aren't named "AR15"? I've read the Connecticut laws posted in other threads here and it looks like they still must not have a collapsible stock or M203 notch or bayonet lug, right?

Thanks.

30 cal slut
04-28-10, 10:34
Douglas,

Sorry I didn't get to this post sooner.

I believe you may bring your Colt 6920 with you. Only the Colt AR15 and the Colt AR15 Sporter are banned by name.

However, you may NOT bring your 6920 lower attached to your upper. Either plan on storing the upper somewhere else, or lock it up. Keep 'em separate (disassembled and out of sight). Suggestion: prior to moving, ship your 6920 upper to yourself and keep it well away from your lower.

The best option for you is to purchase a complete upper and have it modified without the offending features (bayo lug and A2 flash hider). One way to do this is to purchase a separate complete upper for your 6920 (I strongly recommend BCM) and have it modified. I suggest you send it to JoJo's Gun Works (Southington, CT), which will mill off the bayo lug, and permanently attached their CSP muzzle brake/flash enhancer :D. JoJo's works on all of the rifles for the CT State Police. The CSP muzzle brake looks just like an A2 flash hider.