PDA

View Full Version : Help with my first AR build

calvin118
04-27-10, 18:12
I am new to AR's, and am seriously contemplating getting one as a primary home defense gun (and part time plinking implement). After a lot of reading here I am leaning towards:

DD stripped lower (G&R Tactical, options below)
LPK: GR Tactical +LMT Components
Receiver Extension: GR Tactical 6 Position Mil-Spec
Castle Nut: GR Tactical
Receiver Plate: GR Tactical
Buffer Springs: GR Tactical SS
Buffers: H2
Rear Grips MOE Black
Stocks: MOE Black
Trigger Guards: MOE Black

BCM Uppers (G&R Tactical, options below)
16in Mid Length (Light Weight)
Bolt Carrier Group: BCM M16 BCG
Charge Handle: BCM MOD4

Accessories:
Magpul BUIS
Magpul AFG

I am a bit conflicted on the rail. I'm 6'8" and suspect that all the length I can get on the rail might help with comfort and leverage- so at first I was inclined towards a 12" DD with the AFG on the end. Do you guys think this is overkill, or would a 9" rail be more than enough? As a frame of reference, I always feel that I would be more comfortable and have better control if I could place my hand farther out while shooting AK's. I would appreciate any opinions regarding which rail to choose. I plan to mount a Surefire G2, AFG, and Aimpoint.

I'm sold on a middy, but is there any disadvantage to the lightweight?

Any recommendations for the flash suppressor, or are the differences primarily aesthetic?

Any other recommendations or suggestions regarding how to make this build better?

Thanks in advance.

ForTehNguyen
04-27-10, 18:44
build looks good