PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on free float tubes

Norman
04-30-10, 22:13
I知 planning on getting a 16" mid length upper from BCM. I have no experience with free float fore ends. I知 looking at:
VTAC TRX 13"
PRI 12"
Midwest Industries T-12 and SS-12

I want something durable but light weight in that price range. I知 leaning toward the SS-12 or VTAC because I don稚 need full length rails on all four sides.
Any advice would be appreciated.

Dos Cylindros
04-30-10, 22:55
I like the VTAC but don't have any personal experience with it. I recently purchased a BCM 16" middy with the Danile Defense 12.0 lite rail and I really like it.

Joeywhat
04-30-10, 23:10
I have the VTAC modular tube, and like it very much. I believe it's very similar to the one you're referring to. Light weight, easily add rails where you want, is a solid setup that feels rock hard...in fact I have my aimpoint mounted on mine with zero issues, along with a light and DD fixed front sight.

My main complaint is that rail sections are expensive, although they mount very solidly. I like the fact that it's quite slim. Pleasant to hold onto.

m-4 5.56
05-01-10, 11:39
I have Midwest industries two piece free float on one of my rifles ,I like it alot better than my troy ,but it is not a la rue by no means but it is really good definitely for the price.:)

shadow65
05-01-10, 12:39
Tubes as opposed to Quad rails definetly have their place. It just depends on the application. If you don't need all the rails, as on a target set up, the tube is much lighter, and usually cheaper.

Joeywhat
05-01-10, 14:14
Tubes as opposed to Quad rails definetly have their place. It just depends on the application. If you don't need all the rails, as on a target set up, the tube is much lighter, and usually cheaper.