PDA

View Full Version : Telling the difference between 223 & 5.56

Rude Robert
05-03-10, 02:37
Here is my question, I am pretty new to the Ar15 ownership. I have always liked them but when I left the army couldn't afford one. Now, that I own one, is it possible to tell the difference when firing 223 from the 5.56? I keep my ammo separated but I can't tell one from the other when firing them. I don't notice any kick or sound difference. Is this normal? thx robert

Magic_Salad0892
05-03-10, 03:46
Same round different case. If your gun has a 5.56 NATO chamber then it doesn't really matter. You can use both.

Rude Robert
05-03-10, 03:54
Hi, what I am asking if there is anyway to tell the difference while firing.

SERT103
05-03-10, 04:05
I can't tell the difference.

Magic_Salad0892
05-03-10, 06:14
Sorry I misunderstood.

No there is no way to tell the difference.

RogerinTPA
05-03-10, 06:54
Here is my question, I am pretty new to the Ar15 ownership. I have always liked them but when I left the army couldn't afford one. Now, that I own one, is it possible to tell the difference when firing 223 from the 5.56? I keep my ammo separated but I can't tell one from the other when firing them. I don't notice any kick or sound difference. Is this normal? thx robert

From firing not really, but 5.56 ammo has a larger noise report and larger muzzle flash with M193, at least to me. By brand of firearm, more likely. If it's really an unusual brand, maybe someone with info on it, will come along. What type of AR is it?

There is a gauge available that can tell when inserted into the chamber, which makes a mark on the gauge, but the name of it escapes me. Made by Michiguns I think?

Rude Robert
05-03-10, 08:52
Oh thanks. I thought by shooting the 223 and then the 5.56 there would be some notable difference for which I can't tell one from the other. I thought maybe something was wrong with me lol

RogerinTPA
05-03-10, 09:35
So which manufacturer's AR do you have?