PDA

View Full Version : Carbine/AR advice

05-03-10, 08:58
I am new to the AR/carbine world. I am a long time pistol shooter with experience in IDPA/USPSA competition. Having made many pistol buying mistakes over the years I am going to try and avoid those same expensive mistakes. I want a carbine for competition and self defense. I will use it in competition but it must be practical for defense.

I have read the "chart" and numerous post here and other places. I must keep the cost @ $1000 or less [give or take]. I want a good base and I am willing to give up most of the cool guy stuff for a quality base weapon.

I have looked at AK's and have not ruled them out, in handling at the gun shop they appear clumsy and crude next to others. The Ruger Mini 14 is also under consideration, I understand that I must use only Ruger mags with this gun and accuracy is not in the AR realm. I like the Smith & Wesson offerings and I saw a Colt Sporter HB on sale locally for approx. $1000.

My question is: is there any other carbine I should consider along with those mentioned?
Thank you

dcs12345
05-03-10, 10:00
Bravo Company Machine
Daniel Defense

I would personally stay away from the Mini-14, especially if you are wanting to particaipate in competitions.

scottd907
05-03-10, 10:12
Im going push Noveske to anyone whos looking for the best rifle for the money. You really cant go wrong with them. And you dont have to spend $1200 just on a Noveske upper, im sure they have some priced up in that range. Their basic N4 light carbine upper at $850 is unbeatable. Matched with a decent lower at $200-$300, makes a nice $1100 rifle. Iv got a thread open with pics if you'd like to take a look at what iv pieced together.

Saber is another great rifle up in the line with LMT, BCM... I think $1000 will start you off, but im sure you'll be asking for more once you figure out your rifle.

Scott

SWATcop556
05-03-10, 10:14
BCM (Bravo Company MFG)
Daniel Defense
S&W