PDA

View Full Version : Starting AR Mods

viperpit7
05-04-10, 21:50
this spring i got my first AR, i got a rock river arms entry tactical. i would like to start making some modifications to it this summer but i dont want to b spending a small fortune just yet on it. i was thinking about possibly making mods to the bolt, but i am new to ARs and want some other builders opinions on were i should start.
so if any of u could give me some tips that would b a great help. Thanks :)

Thomas M-4
05-04-10, 22:42
First things 1st I would do to an RRA is. Neds 5.56 chamber reamer and ream the chamber.2nd Re-stake the buffer tube because RRA doesn't 3rd check and Re-stake gas key if it needs it. You mentioned bolt mods 4th upgrade would be a LMT or BCM bolt. 5th good mags GI with magpul followers or P-mags. 6th correct buffer H- buffer if you plan to shoot alot of .223 pressure ammo or maybe H-2 buffer if you shoot mostly 5.56 pressure. After that maybe a sprinco standard [blue] cs buffer spring.

Jay Cunningham
05-04-10, 22:44
Have you shot it yet??

DaBears_85
05-04-10, 22:59
...i was thinking about possibly making mods to the bolt...

What kind of mods are you going to make to the bolt?

LOKNLOD
05-04-10, 23:04
Welcome aboard, viperpit7. You've come to the right place. Where in WI are you? I lived in Omro just outside of Oshkosh for a while. Cute little town.

i was thinking about possibly making mods to the bolt, but i am new to ARs

What mods were you considering, and more importantly...why? I'm with The_Katar on this one -- shoot it a bunch first. See what you find to be less than optimal, and then go from there.

There are a lot of things to do with an AR - some practical, some cosmetic, some very specialized to certain applications - but starting to change a bunch of stuff around without some context of what you want and why you want it, it could end up just wasting money.

BrigandTwoFour
05-04-10, 23:35