PDA

View Full Version : Just came back from a training session with d90king.

macnamara
05-09-10, 14:41
Well I just came back from a great and I mean great training session with d90king.

I'd seen several threads on here about training, etc and decided I wanted to do more with my firearms than just plink, so I saw d90's thread here:

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=40610

I posted and soon made contact with d90 and we spoke on the phone and arranged to meet today at a range local to him.

All in all, we were at the range for about 2 1/2 - 3 hours, but it felt like 20 minutes it was so much fun.

d90 is a fantastic tutor. He broke me down and we started at the basics. I brought along my Glock 22 and we trained on that almost exclusively. His training method really makes you think about what you are doing and why, which to me as a new shooter is invaluable.

I came away from the session learning LOTS. I am basically new to owning firearms and even newer to firing them. d90 started me off with the fundamentals. We started with safety and the 4 golden rules. Then we moved on to posture (something that I have leaned that I need to work on), sight alignment and most importantly for me, trigger press. d90 used a good method to get me to try and stop anticipating the round going off. Saying a word, mentally while pressing the trigger. We used the word "Presses" and it actually really helped me not anticipate the "bang".

We worked on dry fires and also a ball and dummy drill, a drill where I aimed the gun and d90 pulled the trigger for me and dot torture tests. He taught me to aim, something I hadn't really known how to do before today. "Aiming the gun and not the gun aiming you" as I like to think of it. All drills were performed at close range, about 3 yards. Perfect for me to see where my point of aim, point of impact is (sadly lacking with the G22).