PDA

View Full Version : Long Range Defensive Handgun Observations

PaulL
05-10-10, 10:36
Yesterday I was out plinking at the in-laws' house and decided to take some shots at their 300 yard target (6'x2') with a few different guns and ammo. I've never done this before and the results were pretty interesting. The target had about 20 feet of sand in front of it so my goal was to try to hit the target first, but at least land it in the sand somewhere. My other goal was to not shoot a cow.

For the 9mm, sight picture was usually right at the top of the target, give or take a foot of slop 'cause 300 yds is a long ass way.

Glock 19 - 115gr FMJ reload, just barely IDPA legal, XS Big Dot sights

Out of 15 rounds, I was able to hit the sand twice. With the same point of aim, some of the rounds (7) would hit the dirt at around 150 yd on the centerline and some (4) would veer off to one side or the other and hit about 30 feet off center at the same distance. 2 rounds weren't track-able and likely went over the target. I suspect my 115 load just isn't heavy enough or moving fast enough for this kind of thing.

Glock 17 - WWB 124gr NATO, stock Glock sights

Shot 17 rounds and 6 hit the sand. The rest took a nose dive at 200-250 yds for some reason. Better than the reloads, though.

Glock 19 - 147gr Federal HST, XS Big Dot sights

Only shot 5 of these 'cause I can hardly find 'em anywhere. One hit the target dead center (blind luck) and the other 4 hit the sand. Goes to show the difference in quality ammo.

Glock 19 - 147gr Winchester Ranger SXT, stock Glock sights

5 of these went downrange and all 5 hit the sand. One was right at the bottom of the target. Again, the higher-end ammo clearly performs better, or at least more consistently.

Glock 21 - Remington UMC 230gr FMJ, Glock factory Meprolight night sights, LE trade-in reconditioned gun