PDA

View Full Version : best SBR ammo?

kalibos
05-10-10, 20:14
what .223/5.56 ammo gives the best performance as far as accuracy and velocity out of a 10.3" chrome lined barrel with a 1-7 twist?

markm
05-10-10, 20:24
Accuracy and Velocity may end up being two mutually exlusive goals with that short of a barrel.

You'll likely have to find out what ammo your barrel likes best in the accuracy departement. And the only way to get decent velocity out of such a short barrel is with lighter bullets. :confused:

kalibos
05-10-10, 20:29
lol, that's kinda what i figured. i'm thinking about trying some type of 62gr. ammo and see if maybe it will be a happy medium

kalibos
05-10-10, 20:34
i shot some 55gr wolf today and the best i could get was 2" groups at 50 yards standing using irons. i'm new to shooting so rag on me too bad:D

Iraqgunz
05-11-10, 04:17
The last time markm and I went shooting I was shot my 11.5" with Magpul MBUS's and used mostly 55gr. ammo. I was able to hit our steel target out to 220 yds. As for groups....could care less really. Minute of perp is generally good enough for me.

Why not try some Black Hills 77gr. Match or Hornady TAP if you really are concerned about group sizes? Probably a better choice of ammo for self defense anyways.

i shot some 55gr wolf today and the best i could get was 2" groups at 50 yards standing using irons. i'm new to shooting so rag on me too bad:D

kalibos
05-11-10, 05:27
you're right, i shouldn't really be concerened with group size. i should just work on consistency with hitting targets out at a distance. what is the opinion on the TAP training ammo?

Iraqgunz
05-11-10, 10:55
I haven't used Hornady TAP training ammo yet only the 75gr. 5.56 TAP.

you're right, i shouldn't really be concerened with group size. i should just work on consistency with hitting targets out at a distance. what is the opinion on the TAP training ammo?

C4IGrant
05-11-10, 11:12
Velocity is king in a SBR as it will extend the fragmentation range.