PDA

View Full Version : Nightforce Velocity Reticle with LMT 308?

lj_1187
05-12-10, 19:32
Hey guys. I have been lurking around a while, but do not post much. I researched all the threads on the new Nightforce Velocity reticles, but I have a few questions from those who have used, or own these scopes.

I am waiting on getting my LMT 308 rifle. I plan to use it for targets 100-400 yards primarily, but also out to 500-600 yards on occasion. I am not completely obsessed with shooting quarter sized groups at 300 yards ect, but as long as I can make consistant hits with decent groups I do not care. I am new to scopes, so I do not have experience ranging, making adjustments ect. The new NF Low Velocity reticle seems to match the 7.62 NATO rounds very well, out to 600 yards. My main question, is that I know the Velocity reticles are made to be used with a single load, but if I buy XM80 ammo in bulk from different companies, will it affect my accuracy much? I am thinking of buying LC XM80 in bulk for my stash, and getting some Federal Gold Medal to use more accurately when I want (and use zero stop to hold the different zero). Does this sound like a good idea? If not what advice can those who have used the Velocitiy reticles give me based on my situation? Thanks in advance!:D

rljatl
05-12-10, 20:57
You may be able to use the Velocity on line calculator to see the effect of different loads.
http://www.exbalapplications.com/NightForce/%28S%28xpgwcyizzmza5q450i353jqg%29%29/NfMainForm.aspx

Otherwise, call Nightforce and ask them. My understanding is that the Velocity reticles are not as precise as some of the other reticles such as the NP-R1 & R2, for example.

shootist~
05-12-10, 21:33
I went through the same thought process and seriously considered the LV reticle. Ended up going with the NP-R2. It's more versatile than the Velocity - switching rifles/ammo is just a matter of running the software and some range time.

ALCOAR
05-12-10, 21:42