PDA

View Full Version : School me on 7.62 NATO GI mil spec

lj_1187
05-12-10, 19:35
I am new to the round. I know LC sells XM80 GI mil spec to the public. I have seen Winchester Q3130 as well, is this GI mil spec and the same thing as the XM80, just made by another company? Are there any others? Do they all have the same weight/muzzle velocity? Or are they different and only the XM80 is the real deal?

Hayseed_40
05-17-10, 10:58
also, where does XM762D come into all this?

m1a_scoutguy
05-17-10, 12:00
I am new to the round. I know LC sells XM80 GI mil spec to the public. I have seen Winchester Q3130 as well, is this GI mil spec and the same thing as the XM80, just made by another company? Are there any others? Do they all have the same weight/muzzle velocity? Or are they different and only the XM80 is the real deal?

I'm no expert,,but I "think" that if it has the NATO Cross on it it should be all the same spec. :rolleyes: But with that said,,I have shot lots of different types of NATO Spec Ammo,,and they all vary to some degree. I would say the Winchester Q3130 is Mil Spec,,all I have seen with those markings have the NATO Cross and normally marked with the year also (68,82,02,06,08,09 for example) The NATO symbol is a circle with a X in it in case you have never seen it & I think that means the case itself needs to be the same spec,,Military Cases are normally thicker than Commercial cases,,,so they hold LESS powder than commercial,,thats how people get in trouble,,they use the same load as for there standard 308 and dump the same amount of powder in a Mil spec case and its over flowing or compressed,,maybe OK for a Bolt gun,,but not a Service rifle.
If you can find some Winny Q3130 for a good price,,buy it up,,,its good to go !!! :)

Bret
06-06-10, 21:33
I'm sending this thread back to the top because I'd also like some more information. I want to develop reloads for my AR-10 that meet the M80 standard.

FromMyColdDeadHand
07-24-10, 01:09