PDA

View Full Version : Will a bipod attached to a non free floated rail affect accuracy?

ghostman1960
05-14-10, 07:04
I am considering a bipod adapter to attach to my Troy non free floated mid length rail system.

I think I remember reading somewhere that accuracy would suffer because of the upward pressure exerted on the barrel.

I can't see how there would be any more upward pressure exerted on it than shooting from a sandbag rest.

I am kind of new to the AR system so I am probably wrong. Can anyone set me straight about using a bipod on a non free float rail?

ghostman1960
05-14-10, 15:46
No one here has any idea?

Belmont31R
05-14-10, 18:23
It can affect harmonics of the barrel otherwise your biggest worry would be uneven pressure. With any non-FF rail things like different sling pressure, bi-pod pressure in this case, etc can vary from shot to shot. Im not a math guy but even 1/16" of barrel movement will have a noticeable impact at range.

ALCOAR
05-14-10, 18:35
Non FF with bipod = Shift in POI

Just_Plain_T.
05-14-10, 19:14
Related question/thought:

I understand that bipod versus no bipod will alter POI.

Here's my thought -- wouldn't the bipod, assuming it hasn't been moved (left on the same part of the handguard), consistently alter the POI?

What I'm saying is - if you keep the bipod on the rifle, would the altered POI be consistent enough that you could adjust your sights and compensate for it?

rljatl
05-14-10, 19:54
It's not just the fact that the bi-pod is on the rail. It's the pressure imparted to the barrel via the bi-pod and rail. Unlikely that the pressure will be equal from shot to shot.

Bi-pods are sometimes "loaded" by putting forward and downward pressure on the rifle. This varies from shot to shot. Sometimes bi-pods are not loaded, which of course means the pressure on the barrel would be different.