PDA

View Full Version : LAR Grizzly side charge uppers?

Arctic Sloth
05-15-10, 13:06
Does anyone have any experience with the LAR Grizzly side charge uppers? I am thinking about ordering one. As a newbie, I have no experience of any merit, with any complete upper, so I am just curious if you think this is a good choice for under $1,000.00? I am interested in the OPS-4 Operator.

http://www.largrizzly.com/web/guest/ops-4-upper-assemblies

markdh720
05-15-10, 22:03
I'm not one of the "go to" guys around here for information, but....

I vistit a few weapon and tactical sites, but this site doesn't talk much of side charging rifles. Of the other sites I visit, Addax Tactical has a good reputation. Their uppers will be more expensive. They have gas-piston uppers but don't have as big as a variety as the site you mentioned, especially in barrels. Maybe other members have exprience?

scottd907
05-16-10, 00:25
I dont know if its any better or accurate then a standard Upper Receiver with the different bolt and charging handle design. I like the charging handle incorporated into the bolt carrier, and from the pictures it looks like they totally re-done the bolt carrier. I wonder if it accepts the standard bolt and charging handles?

Theres a lot of great choices out there for uppers inbetween the 800-1200dollar range. Whats your thoughts on it? What are your likes? or better, what are you using the rifle for? These arent complete rifles, and for a couple hundred more you could probably pick up a nice gas piston complete rifle which is probably your best bet for a reliable rifle.

My choice was for a home defense weapon/paper killer, I picked up a basic N4 Noveske carbine upper for $800 used, a nib RRA complete lower for $300, and got a great deal on a Eotech(probably would never spend the money on it, got this one in a trade). Added a nice CTR collapsible stock and flash light. So many upper choice for $1000, hope this helps in your choice.

Arctic Sloth
05-16-10, 06:58