PDA

View Full Version : My LE6940 Arrived

wcook
05-15-10, 16:24
As the title says, my new rifle arrived. I am stoked to say the least. It was like Christmas today. I am new to this game but the quality exceeds my expectations. The followers in the factory mags suck but I have a bunch of Pmags. I had no idea the selector/safety is reversible but the manual says it is ( I am a southpaw). I need to get out and shoot it. I will post pics later.

:cool:

mofeen
05-23-10, 07:37
Nice! I just got one last week too. My first AR.

How does you upper and lower fit? Mine has a slight wobble to it, but after reading some posts here I am wondering if this is normal? I picked up an Accu Wedge anyhow and will install this week.

Also, how do you like that Magpul ACS stock? Does it add much weight compared to the original stock?

ChicagoTex
05-23-10, 07:53
How does you upper and lower fit? Mine has a slight wobble to it, but after reading some posts here I am wondering if this is normal? I picked up an Accu Wedge anyhow and will install this week.

Slight wobble is normal and good, it means the parts were actually machined properly.

NEVER install an Accu Wedge in a gun you want to be reliable, they have a nasty habit of getting loose and getting chewed up and into the bolt carrier group and spring/buffer assemblies and fouling things up, sometimes very severely. Oh, and they DON'T improve accuracy.

Chameleox
05-23-10, 08:09
Entirely normal. Nothing to worry about. There can be wobble between the upper and lower receiver, just not between the upper receiver and the barrel, or the sights.

Forget the accuwedge; by all accounts its a solution to an internet problem, and like Chicagotex said, it can possibly cause more problems down the road.

Very nice 6940! From everything I've read, it looks like Colt made a real winner.

GS163
05-23-10, 09:04