PDA

View Full Version : Carbine Training question from Newbie

Dr. Mike
05-15-10, 18:25
Hello All,

Am new to this site however it seems like a wealth of information. Though not new to shooting, I am completely new to the AR platfom, having never fired or even handled one. I have some tactical pistol experience however and would like to know if anyone can recommend a good training course (school) that can take me from the very basics of the 5.56 up to and including transitioning to side arm etc. As time and opportunity are very limited to me, I am hoping to find a 3-4 day course that will cover all of the above at one time. Any info anyone can provide for a reputable school would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks,

Dr. Mike

Treehopr
05-15-10, 18:48
Where are you located and how much are you willing to spend?

Not just for the course but for travel/ammo?

Jay Cunningham
05-15-10, 20:00
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=3081

G_M
05-15-10, 20:20
I can recommend TigerSwan. They'll start with the fundamentals and slowly work you through drills that will improve your fundamentals. I walked away with a good training mindset and methodology to improve my shooting or diagnose it.

You can read my AAR in the TigerSwan forum, I took the 2 day tactical carbine class in LA.

Dr. Mike
05-15-10, 20:59
Where are you located and how much are you willing to spend?

Not just for the course but for travel/ammo?

I am located in the northeast (NJ). Training is very limited in this neck of the woods. I am able and willing to travel but would prefer a site closer (1-2 hours) to a major city for ease of travel arrangements. As far as ammo expenses, I will provide for whatever amount is required to complete the training. I will be attending with a friend so can share some of expenses. While I don't want to be ripped-off, I don't mind spending for a rewarding experience. Please let me know what you think.
Dr. Mike

Eric Cartman
05-15-10, 22:00