PDA

View Full Version : My 1st AR!

gunsavant
05-16-10, 18:14
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum. My name is blake, and I'm from Memphis, glad to be a member. I have some questions about my upcoming purchase. I'll be assembling the rifle myself. My purchase is going to be something I'll want to keep a long time. I'm thinking about a flat top with a 16" barrel, with flash hider and a free floating rail. I want to put some sort of scope on it. I would like it to be for self defense situations but I may also like to do some range shooting and hunting. I know little about scopes or exact ranges I need the scope to be capable of. Right now, I really like the looks of a 16" barrel with a 12" free floating rail. I want a good barrel. Hopefully one that won't be too heavy but will last for a long time. The idea of putting together my AR with so many options available is quiet daunting. I have been researching for a little while and have determined that I need to make this purchase soon before any anti assualt rifle or anti gun legislation is passed. I intend to keep this rifle for a long time. If ya'll could help me answer some of these questions, it would be a great help.

1) What is the best .223 ammo for self defense but also cheap to buy in bulk?

2) What type of twist ratio is best for a 16" barrel?

3) Out to what ranges can a 16" barrel perform well at?

4) How much more does a grendel AR cost, and what is the capacity of a standard grendel mag?

5) What length of rail should I get and why?

6) Should I buy a piston or gas operated rifle and why?

7) What is the best business to order my parts from?

8) How much will it cost to put together an AR with the following: mid range scope, laser, light, extendable stock, backup sights, good quality 16" barrel with flash hider.

I want a rifle from a great brand, not sure which one yet. Which should I select and for what reasons? pros and cons?