PDA

View Full Version : why bushmaster bashing?

will73
05-31-10, 18:21
I have been reading threads on this forum since 09 and and pretty up on the gun world. I have notice all the bad press so to speak on bushmasters since being on here and this is what i have found since owning one for the past 2 years. first off i have a bushmaster 16 in heavy barrel 1in 9 twist , cproduct 30 round mags ,all the internals are stock,for lube i run lucas oil red n tacky 2 grease. To date i have about 5000 rounds in it 1000 wolf give of take, 500 winchester-pmc-ect, the rest have been handloads. I have done numerous tests on this rifle i shot all 1000 rounds of wolf 200 at a time with only running a brush down the barrel just to see if the grease would harden up some with the carbon build up in it, other times i mixed the grease with dust, grit and grim till it was a chunky paste to make it stop running. With all these tests and the round count i have i have yet to find the gun to have a failure that was not my fault(bad handload)and only 13 to date. in short I would stake my life and my families lives on this rifle. enough said

Belmont31R
05-31-10, 18:29
They are not as good as some other brands.

Im kinda confused as to what tests you were trying to do.

Also you have one gun. Its not enough to make any real determinations on either good or bad.

Off the top of my head:

BM is notorious for canted FSBs

BM puts over sized gas ports on their barrels, and over gas their guns.

They use comm rec ext's which limit stock choice.

I don't think they are doing a lot of the testing that has sorta become the industry standard for what is considered a quality gun.

You can refer to Rob_S's chart on what comes with each brand of gun. BM is pretty far down the list: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pwswheghNQsEuEhjFwPrgTA&single=true&gid=5&output=html