PDA

View Full Version : Weighted Running, Distance, and Sauna Suit?

TheSmiter1
06-01-10, 08:39
I've been running for a few months using an empty flak jacket (no SAPI plates), a weight vest, and a pack. The pack is mostly just to stop the flak and vest from bouncing and doesn't contain any weight. The empty flak weighs 10 lbs and the vest weights 20 lbs. I usually run 3 miles, with numerous sprints throughout, with each sprint being followed by push ups, mountain climbers, and side straddle hops. I do this four times a week.

Today, after reading that running with weight may be bad for your joints and back in the long-term, I tried running without all the above. I ran 5 miles, still with sprints and the other stuff. I was able to run considerably harder than with the weight.

I noticed that after today, my knees hurt more than they do after a run with all the weighted stuff. My back, however, feels just dandy compared to during and after a weight run. So my question is: Is it better for me to run 3 miles with the weight, or 5 miles without?

Oh, and would a Sauna Suit aid in increasing cardiovascular performance? I don't give a damn about weight loss, I'm just talking better performance out of my heart and veins. The weighted stuff also really helped me sweat a lot, so I was thinking the Sauna Suit would at least keep me sweating as much as I did with the weight.

Thanks.

500grains
06-01-10, 09:02
I noticed that after today, my knees hurt more than they do after a run with all the weighted stuff. My back, however, feels just dandy compared to during and after a weight run. So my question is: Is it better for me to run 3 miles with the weight, or 5 miles without?

Sorry to bear bad news, but running with the weights will blast the hell out of your ankles, knees and back.

However, so will your running style. If you are really pounding yourself, landing hard, running down hill, etc., then the 5 mi. run without weights will eventually destroy you as well.