PDA

View Full Version : Novice 1st Impressions: ACR vs. SCAR

110JBP
06-04-10, 19:26
Greetings - this will serve as my first post, but I have been reading the content here for a while. I like the protocol and overall courtesy and professionalism on this site.

I had a great opportunity to finally take my SCAR and ACR to the range today to fire them for the first time, and I thought I would offer my layman's observations.

The caveats - I am a novice rifle shooter; I have much more experience with handguns, so I will not comment much on the accuracy of these rifles, and a lot of my observations are subjective due to this inexperience.

My range visit was for "coarse" sighting in of the Aimpoints mounted on each rifle (getting them on the paper and then into the bull's eye to the best of my abilities). Shooting was from the bench and only out to 40m. I used 55 grain Winchester and Federal XM193 55 grain. My groups on both rifles with Aimpoints were about 2.5" to 3" (perhaps this should be embarrassing, but I've got to start somewhere).

It seems that there are two assessments when dealing with a firearm: perception and performance. Perception is when I hold it and assess its quality of assembly. Performance is when I shoot it, recoil, accuracy (moot for me right now), trigger, reliability, etc. I am sure there are many other factors.

Perception: It is interesting that the SCAR feels almost delicate and toy-like when handling it. I believe this is my perception due to its light weight. The ACR feels hefty and durable, possibly due to its heavier weight. Being a Land Rover enthusiast, I often associate weight with quality, but that also often results in misconception!

The ACR is definitely much more front heavy than the SCAR. I believe that Bushmaster really should offer a light profile barrel for the ACR.