PDA

View Full Version : Bbl cutting Q

The Extractor
06-06-10, 20:12
Im a machinist with 10 years exp and I have cut and threaded bbls previously, but none c/l.
I am wanting to shorten my c/l bbl.

Will it mess up the chrome lining if I shorten my c/l bbl ?
Is there a certain technique to it ?

ChicagoTex
06-06-10, 21:52
Not if you have it done by someone professionally experienced with AR barrel cuts like Adco.

The Extractor
06-06-10, 23:48
Im going to rephrase my first post.

DaBears_85
06-07-10, 03:13
Im a machinist with 10 years exp and I have cut and threaded bbls previously, but none c/l.
I am wanting to shorten my c/l bbl.

Will it mess up the chrome lining if I shorten my c/l bbl ?
Is there a certain technique to it ?

The chrome can flake around where it's cut. Barrels are generally cut to size and then chromed for that reason. I would send it to Adco just to be on the safe side, they do excellent work.

It also depends on the rifle itself and wether or not you have any other AR's. If it's on the lower end and and you're just wanting to test your skills I would reluctantly say go for it. That is of couse it's not your only/primary weapon. If it's your only AR and/or it's a top tier weapon I would send it off to be done.

Entering 'chrome lining and bbl cutting' or any variation of those words into the google machine produced alot of results, too many to post here. Also, try using the search function here as this question has to have been asked here before.

bkb0000
06-07-10, 03:14