PDA

View Full Version : POSP Scope on M&P 15R ?

vslesarev
06-07-10, 08:18
Hi all,

This would be my first posting on the forums...so please humor my request. How would one go about mounting a Russian pso/posp type scope to an AR upper (without any permanent modification)? Before anyone decides to e-smack me- I am only thinking of doing this because of the quality of these scopes (shot a PSL before and the optic is EXCELLENT for ~$80). Here is a thread with an image of such a monstrosity: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:AfAMUH3HgUAJ:parallaxscurioandrelicfirearmsforums.yuku.com/topic/34924+scope+for+5.45x39&cd=4&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

P.S. I am totally new to AR rifles, so please forgive my ignorance, but it seems that any quality magnified western optic setups would be in the >$300 range.

Killjoy
06-07-10, 21:26
P.S. I am totally new to AR rifles, so please forgive my ignorance, but it seems that any quality magnified western optic setups would be in the >$300 range.

Probably quite a bit more than that. A Burris XTR can be had for about $600, which the absolute minimum quality I could accept.

I have to admit that your other question is a bit odd. The mounting systems seem incompatible, and the optic is of dubious quality. The individual on the other site seems happy with his setup, so more power to him, but the scope is awfully high, probably too high for most people's tastes.

I would reconsider going cheap on a scope, after all the optic, along with the rifle, ammunition and the shooter, is an integral part of building an accurate bullet launching platform. Good luck to you.

Gutshot John
06-07-10, 21:30
Given the height over boreline, a complete lack of any eye relief (needs to be mounted about 4 inches farther forward), an idiotic cheek weld, not to mention incompatible mounting, I'd say that configuration looks about as useful as a soup sandwich.