PDA

View Full Version : With or without thumb safety?

RancidSumo
06-08-10, 20:52
I'm going to be getting a M&P pretty soon but noticed that there is the option to have a safety or not. I'm fairly new to this game so I'm not sure what the benefits of each are. Could someone here point me towards what would be the better choice?

Thanks.

Abraxas
06-08-10, 21:23
If it is just for personal use, then it will be a preference thing. But if it is a Duty weapon then you might check to see if your dept has any requirements. Me personally, I prefer them without.YMMV

CyberM4
06-08-10, 21:26
The decision will be yours. I'll give you an example with one of my pistols. My USPC SS 40 has safety. When I carry I keep the safety off. Plus I have a round in the chamber.

C4IGrant
06-08-10, 21:30
Without. I hate the TS on the M&P.

C4

RancidSumo
06-08-10, 21:34
Well that seems to answer that.

mnoe82
06-08-10, 22:00
I've had 3 M&P's so far, the first one had it, the next two didn't. I would never go back to the TS. YMMV.

DocGKR
06-08-10, 22:58
I strongly prefer the M&P with a thumb safety--I view it as one of the advantages of the M&P over the Glock.

Oscar 319
06-08-10, 23:09
The M&P thumb safeties appeal to folks accustomed to the 1911 platform (or BHP). Disengaging the safety will come naturally.

They are added insurance in a gun-grab scenario.

Personally, I do not care for them on my M&P's.

SWATcop556
06-08-10, 23:29
All of the TS on the M&Ps that I have tried have been mushy as hell and were a pain in the ass. If they could get the TS to feel like a 1911 and have more of a snap and stay engaged more securely then I would go for one with it. Until then I opt for one without.

SpeedRacer
06-08-10, 23:49
If you're unsure, I'd consider buying the thumb safety model. You can always remove it if you decide to, S&W sells the little pieces to fill the holes in the frame. My daily carry M&P is/was a thumb safety model.

Before...
http://thecurt.com/mp_2.jpg

After...