PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with BCG question

mkdonald
06-27-10, 15:48
I am totally new at this, but I am very mechanical. I have assembled watches and car engines from scratch. I really enjoy building mechanical things. I decided to build an AR 15 and have thoroughly enjoyed the process. I am nearly complete, but I have a question. I have the Brownells assembly video and the instructor puts the BCG in the upper and locks it forward. Then he demonstrates sliding the bolt carrier back and forth by sticking his finger in the back end and sliding it out and then forward with relative ease. Mine is way tighter than that! I have a Larue stealth upper, Daniel Defense 16" M4 barrell, Spikes Nickel Boron BCG. I did function test it according to the video and it does lock and eject the dummies properly, but it has to really slam forward to lock in place. When I take the BCG out and push the bolt back and forward, it is not as easy as it looks in the video....seems tighter. Should I be worried?

bkb0000
06-27-10, 16:14
have you fired it? properly lubricated? do you have another BCG (preferably regular phosphate) you can try?

the billet receivers can be on the tighter side of tolerances, and your treated BCG might be on the wider side of tolerances. from the way you describe, i'd probably go ahead and put a good 500 rounds through it and see how it performs. if you have problems, i'd try a different carrier.. and if you still have problems, i'd call larue.

mkdonald
06-27-10, 16:24