PDA

View Full Version : Finally let my G17's go....

SWATcop556
07-19-10, 06:42
I've been carrying a full sized Glock for many years now. First model was an issued G31C that I carried for 5 years then I changed dept. and was able to carry a G17. I've carried it for about 3 years now. I've always carried either a G19 or G26 off-duty.

I then transfered to a new unit at my dept. and I've found myself in plainclothes and carrying my G19 almost exclusively. I only carried the G17 for uniformed duty and tac team callouts/trainings.

I recently had two weeks of vacation that I just finished up and I did a shit load of shooting, mainly focusing on my pistol skills since my rifle had been taking up most of my training time lately. I began to find that I consistently shot my G19's better than the G17's. My draw and presentation was more consistent and my follow-up shots were more accurate. I thought it might have just been a fluke so a few days later I hit the range again and, sure as shit, the G19 out performed. :dirol:

Since I've been carrying the G19 95% of the time and when putting myself on the timer running different drills I was consistently the better shooter with it, I decided to let my 2 G17's go. A fellow officer had two G19's (one near NIB and the other an older two pin Gen3) and he was looking to get G17's we did a straight across swap. I now have 4 G19's and 2 G26's and really couldn't be happier. The biggest hurdle I had to get over was, strangely enough, not carrying a full sized handgun for uniformed duty/SWAT :ph34r:. When it really came down to the nut-cutting the G19 does everything I need it to do and the G17 doesn't offer me anything that the G19 can't handle. So after many years I've finally converted over and don't feel like I'm missing anything.

4StringSlinger
07-19-10, 07:34