PDA

View Full Version : In IDPA and Conflicted

blackscot
07-26-10, 12:10
I've been shooting IDPA semi-regularly for several years now, and during most of the past 4 years almost exclusively using a G19. This is also my primary HD gun, as well as regular carry during all but the hottest weather. I also used to shoot USPSA going back to the mid-90's (mostly with full-size 1911's that I rarely carried) , but when IDPA came around I liked that it was centered on self defense and that I could meaningfully participate in it with a carryable gun. Also -- and without any regard to competitive performance -- there is no doubt that my familiarity and confidence in gun handling is far greater than it would be otherwise. But.....

....with the G19 I also have been utterly mired at the Sharpshooter level in SSP division. Although I have simulated Expert a few times in practice "mock" classifiers", I usually fall far short of it there, and have never made it during the real thing at a match, also by a wide margin.

I practice as much as I am able to between work, family, and other commitments, and I think at this point am fairly well educated on at least the basics of shooting technique. Whatever I was doing during those couple of practices though I don't seem to be able to reliably duplicate.

IDPA has also become more "racey" since I first started, IMO. Many fellow shooters I have come to know during the period have eventually made Expert in SSP, but apparently all using full-sized and often competition-specific guns like the G34, or more recently the M&P9 Pro. Many don't understand why I should want to "handicap" myself with the G19, and aren't surprised that I'm stuck at Sharpshooter using it. With one classifier after another (whether at a match or in practice) having the same tediously predictable result, I'm beginning to wonder myself.