PDA

View Full Version : LWRC or LMT

FinestBh
07-26-10, 16:34
I know this has been discussed before, but I need the latest info before I make my decision... I'm going to be purchasing a semi-auto precision rifle platform (in .308) in the very near future, and I'm leaning heavily towards the LWRC REPR. With regards to the REPR, have they worked out the magazine issues yet?
PS: I was also considering a Knight's SR-25, but they're damn expensive... I haven't ruled out an LMT either, but I couldn't find anything longer than 16" on their website.

Boomer
07-26-10, 17:38
I have a 16" REPR from the first batch released that had the magazine issues. I sent it back and had the catch modified on LWRC's dime and now it works with pmags and CP mags. Since I've had it back I've put 800 rounds through it without a single malfunction. All REPR's shipping now will have the proper specs. I don't know about the LMT as I have no experience with them. I hope this helps.

bc5000
07-26-10, 17:47
I'll say LMT! :cool:

http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h163/bc5000/001-11.jpg

ArmedSuspect
07-26-10, 20:22
i own the LMT and i've shot the LWRC. both are nice and will serve you well.

if you want a longer barrel you'll be a while before you get one from LMT. on the up side the MWS is of the MRP variety and you can swap barrels rather easily.

i don't see the need for a piston in an AR-type rifle. in a 308 AR rifle there is even less need. i've run 600 rounds (not what i would call a ton of rounds but it's a start) through my MWS with zero cleaning and have had zero issues. everything from match ammo to '70ish surplus this rifle has been great.

i hope to get the time to run 4-500 rounds through it all in one session in the next few weeks.

FinestBh
07-26-10, 20:35