PDA

View Full Version : Bolt Gun, Tac Rifle and LR

jwfuhrman
07-27-10, 13:26
Ok, so Ive been reading up on calibers and what not and have decided that the 243 WIN is the caliber I want. What Im not sure on is the Action I want. Remington and Savage both make excellent platform.

Here is what Id like to use it for:

Long Range(600-1000) competition
Tactical Precision Rifle competitions

Id like to have the option of a box magazine(just to for higher capacity).

Just any info in those areas would be handy. Im new to the Bolt gun game and I know alot of you guys in this forum are smarter than I am.

I dont have a heck of alot of cash. Id love a GA Precision gun but funds aren't there for that. Basically, Id like a "starter gun" that I can upgrade over time into my "perfect" bolt gun.

javentre
07-28-10, 07:28
If you're looking for a starter gun, I assume you're buying something off the shelf? If so, you need to look at the twist rates offered and what bullets you want to shoot.

When I last looked at the Remington lineup, the twist rates for the .243 really limited your bullet choices.

jwfuhrman
07-28-10, 07:48
I agree. I think 1/9 is the best Ive seen out of any thing. Im debating on the Savage EDGE just to get started then build off that platform. I have a family member that is a gunsmith, actually helped Sinclair Intl on a lot of projects over the years when they were still local. He's done alot of barrels over the years so I thought about tryin to find just a Savage action and a Krieger barrel blank.

But I really dont know.

glockeyed
07-28-10, 08:17
the edge design is so new there is about 0 aftermarket support. I also believe its more to compete with the remmy 770 model.

i just started and should have my rifle together this weekend. i ended up with a savage 12 varmint, in .223.

jwfuhrman
07-28-10, 09:02