PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster barrel issue?

Green Leader
08-20-10, 08:22
I have a 16in Bushmaster V-Match carbine that I picked up recently. The rifle in general has not given me any problems and I am really enjoying it, I have noticed a small issue that when shooting I concentrate my grouping slightly left of the bulls-eye.

Since my rifle is an ORC model without any iron sights, it's hard to determine if it's the barrel (I read the story about older bushmasters being over torqued), the red dot itself,ammo, or me..haha. Does anybody have any suggestions to figure out what the culprit is?

40Arpent
08-20-10, 08:29
I don't know what I am missing here, so I'll ask the dumb question....have you not tried adjusting your optic to move the point of impact over?

Green Leader
08-20-10, 09:06
I don't know what I am missing here, so I'll ask the dumb question....have you not tried adjusting your optic to move the point of impact over?

I know, it sounds odd. I have tried moving the windage setting over but it doesn't seem to make much of a difference. The red dot is centered over the target which it pretty much obliterates, the sight is a vortex sparc.

Crow Hunter
08-20-10, 10:39
I know, it sounds odd. I have tried moving the windage setting over but it doesn't seem to make much of a difference. The red dot is centered over the target which it pretty much obliterates, the sight is a vortex sparc.

At what range are you shooting and having your POI being slightly left of POA? How far over left is it?

No offense intended but if you have made adjustments and it is still to the left the same amount it sounds like it is you pulling it to the left slightly. Is this your first rifle? Do you have experience shooting other rifles?

Do you have someone else that could shoot it and see if it does it for them?

If it is an ORC there are no sights to be canted so having the barrel over torqued wouldn't cause an issue for you.