PDA

View Full Version : wet gun

topgun84
08-21-10, 21:40
what is the best way to draw moisture out of an AR if it gets completely submerged?

bkb0000
08-21-10, 21:55
just field strip and wipe dry.. oil generously

i live in the pacific northwest... my guns get soaked often. it's not a big deal

rrpederson
08-21-10, 21:56
im no expert, but im thinkin u would be a good idea to begin removing the water before it gets a chance to dry or do any damage like rust. i would take it completely apart, like down to the springs and detents, and use some compressed air to spray all the water out. from every crack and crevice. i hope that works for u.

richie

topgun84
08-21-10, 22:02
your probably right. it had no problems firing once I pulled the bolt to the rear and allowed the water to drain from barrel and mag. theres gotta be an easier way to do it though. I wish I knew how all the individuals who serve in maritime capacities maintained their weapons. especially after being exposed to salt water etc.

whiskey6
08-21-10, 22:02
Buy a s#!t load of beef jerky. Save all the little white packs that come in the bag. You know,the ones they have to mark "Do Not Eat" Or you'll eat it. Put all of those in a foot locker with your gun for 6 Months and, presto! Dry gun.:lol:

topgun84
08-21-10, 22:06
your absolutly right. then I could take the empty bags and tape them over my optics to prevent them from getting destroyed as well. when I go back to branson i'll test that theroy in table rock.:haha:

whiskey6
08-21-10, 22:16
Use plenty of 100mph. tape.:D

Eurodriver
08-21-10, 22:27
Depending how anal you are,

Lube a rag and go over it, go through the bore, get in the lower.

put them in an airtight case i.e. pelican with dessicant.

put the lower and upper in the oven sans optic and pistol grip and call it a day.

topgun84
08-21-10, 22:34
we'll see what happens. Im not to concerned with it but it is a direct impingement gun.

Nexus7
08-21-10, 22:45