PDA

View Full Version : AAR - Tactical Defense Institute (TDI) - Tactical Rifle I

Wicked
08-22-10, 01:52
Last weekend I attended a 3 day Tactical Rifle I course at Tactical Defense Institute (TDI) hosted by John Benner and his staff in West Union, OH. I chose TDI because it was the closest full-spectrum weapons training facility, the cost seemed reasonable and I had heard & read good things about them. Classes ran from 9am to 5pm with an hour break for lunch (pack your own cooler) and an evening shoot was scheduled for Day 2. The nearest lodging, meals and medical facility are at least a 20 minute drive.

http://www.tdiohio.com/home.html

This is my first attempt at writing an AAR, so be gentle. I didn't take notes or pics and did not make any real effort to mentally document my training for the purpose of reporting it - so I may have missed a thing or two. I went to TDI seeking instruction, and concentrated my time on listening, watching, participating and gathering knowledge. I've only attended 2 other training classes, so take my random comments with that fact in mind.

The Class

* This was a Level I carbine class. There were 21 students (2 female)and approximately 8 to 10 instructors working during different portions of the class. For the most part, a 2 to 1 student/instructor ratio. All students were .civ with the lone exception of a NROTC Cadet. Ages ranged from 20 to 50+. All but two of the instructors were from a law enforcement background, only one listed military qualifications. In my opinion, a good portion of the students had very limited carbine experience, but during the entire class at no time did I see an unsafe condition on the range.