PDA

View Full Version : The 2010 Gun Buyers Guide...

SteyrAUG
08-23-10, 22:33
Ok, for those who don't know me.

I've been collecting guns since the mid 1970s. I have collected through several gun bans. I have quite a few guns which I have purchased over the years. And I have been a FFL / SOT for 10 years.

I have bought guns in good times and bad times. I have learned some things. One of those things is people always say "Man...if I could have bought such and such gun back then when I had a chance, I'd have bought 10 of them." Well right now is probably one of the best times in the last four decades to buy guns. There are things available that we simply couldn't have dreamed of getting even in the pre89 "golden age."

Just one problem, the economy sucks and everyone is mostly broke. Of course that is usually the case when the getting is good. So for those lucky folks who have some money to spend and want to get a few good pieces. Here are my recommendations:

1. AR-15 - If you don't have one yet, this is where most people should start. It is simply the most practical firearm for most people. Doesn't have a huge collector value, but it has true value. Long gone are the Clinton ban prices and you can get current platform carbines at realistic market prices. Magazines, accessories and parts are readily available and affordable. Your best bet is a Colt, Daniel Defense or similar. But you will do just fine with Stag, Armalite, Bushmaster and similar rifles. Don't wast your time with budget knockoffs. The only drawback is 5.56 ammo is still pricey.