PDA

View Full Version : Draken fighter jet for sale: $175,000

wild_wild_wes
08-27-10, 08:03
STOCKTON, Calif. (AP) - Looking for a good deal on a used Saab? But you'll need more than a garage. A Cold War-era J35 Draken Saab jet fighter is for sale in California. The Swedish fighter first entered service in 1960, to take on Soviet MiGs. It was once armed with 30mm automatic cannons and missiles. The plane is disarmed now. The Saab is at an airport in Stockton, Calif. The Draken had been priced at $499,000, but it's now listed at $175,000.

500grains
08-27-10, 09:05
Doesn't this belong in the equipment exchange section?

(just kidding)

ryanm
08-27-10, 09:30
This was one of my favorite planes! Wish I was a jet pilot :)

wild_wild_wes
08-27-10, 10:09
http://www.fighterplanephotos.com/photos/J35%20Draken%20Fighter%20Plane%20Photo%20-%2001.jpg

Preferred User
08-27-10, 20:07
Lets see, cost of plane + cost for overhaul (it has been sitting since 2005 so let's say $5K minimum) + $5/gal/450-550 GPH (no playing with the afterburners or that cost will really jump) + assorted hourly maintenance costs + 1000 hours turbine complex for your endorsement + 20 hours time in type + ???

Oh yeah. This is the deal of the century.

ThirdWatcher
08-27-10, 20:29
... no playing with the afterburners or that cost will really jump...

Yeah, right... could you avoid the temptation? :D

jaxman7
08-27-10, 21:11
Beautiful aircraft. I love Delta winged planes just for the aesthetics. My two obsessions are firearms and aviation.

Preferred User
08-27-10, 21:25
Yeah, right... could you avoid the temptation? :D

No. If you can afford the cost of the ticket, you have to enjoy the ride. Zoom baby!

ThirdWatcher
08-27-10, 23:42
No. If you can afford the cost of the ticket, you have to enjoy the ride. Zoom baby!

I couldn't agree more!

Preferred User
08-27-10, 23:59